Being Human

courtesy of Marcus74id @ Freedigitalphotos.net

courtesy of Marcus74id @ Freedigitalphotos.net

Lately I have been processing both the struggle and beauty of what it means to be human. It hasn’t been easy, but it has awoken hope to my weary soul.

I will be the first to admit that I would like to be a super human, not just a human. Sometimes I would like to think of myself as someone who doesn’t need anyone or anything. To be someone who is incapable of feeling hurt or pain. To walk around with an invisible shield to keep others from seeing my own brokenness, and somehow possess the ability to not make any mistakes. And that’s when I wake up and realize, I’m not invincible, I’m a human being. Humans make mistakes, humans are broken and humans have the ability to feel. Some days I see these as curses, but more and more I see them as gifts to remind us that we need each other and we are incapable of making it in this world without others to help us through the good times and the bad.

While the following list is by no means conclusive, it simply summarizes a whole heap of what I have been learning about myself and others in recent months. I hope these words can cultivate encouragement and hope on your journey as well.

courtesy of stock images @ freedigitalphotos.net

courtesy of stock images @ freedigitalphotos.net

Humans Make Mistakes.

I don’t know how many times, even in this last week, I’ve said the words, and “I don’t want to be ‘that’ guy”. How much of our time do we spend comparing our mistakes to the mistakes of others? We consciously or unconsciously think, “Well, at least I’m not like that person over there.” Let’s be honest, as long as we are human we all are going to make mistakes. Perhaps our first mistake is subconsciously telling ourselves that we can never make a mistake. Making mistakes means I am capable of hurting others. Ouch. I had to sit with this one for days. I have no problem being the victim of someone else’s mistakes, whether intentional or not, and feeling hurt by the circumstances. I’ve been hurt, a lot. However, a recent sobering reality I am learning to accept is I also have the capability of hurting others with my words or actions whether I intend to or not. I used to always think that as long as my heart or intentions were “good” in my little world, however someone perceives or takes what I say or do is entirely their problem. It’s a painful reality to discover that I am capable of making a decision which could cause someone else to be hurt, especially when I don’t intend to. Perfectionism does not help my situation. And while I have my faith, religion hasn’t helped my situation either. I have created this imaginary world around myself that makes me think I can do no wrong. I didn’t say I was incapable of doing wrong, but I didn’t give myself room for making any mistakes. Does that make sense?

I make mistakes all the time. I acknowledge them and I over apologize for things I didn’t even do. I know I fail time and time again. But I don’t like to know that my mistakes have impacted others. This causes pain and we humans have a difficult time processing this emotion. (I’ll talk about feelings next.) When one creates this false existence or places too high of expectations on themselves, it takes the personal flogging session to a whole new level of self-loathing and abuse. We end up living in shame and regret and we should really stop that. Making mistakes helps remind us that we are human. I’m not suggesting that we should shrug off every mistake as though it is nothing. However, I am suggesting that we shouldn’t burry ourselves in a pile of shame which keeps us from being able to move forward. I think my new favorite author, Brene Brown, would agree.

Many of us humans, I believe, struggle with the need to be so independent that they don’t need anything from anyone, especially sympathy or grace. We all need grace, because we all make mistakes, and there is nothing wrong with this. Could some of our mistakes be rather catastrophic and cause significant damage? Yes. But I’m not talking about learning to accept that we will make mistakes without understanding that we will still be held accountable and face the appropriate consequences of such mistakes. I am suggesting that we should go a little easier on ourselves when we do make mistakes. By hiding behind a façade of perfectionism or self-loathing, we work so hard at giving others the impression that we’re better than what they see. Maybe we are, and maybe we’re not. What I do know is we should probably stop pretending that we can do no wrong, because everyone else who is human can see right through that. Give room for making mistakes and discovering your humanity. Stop pretending to be someone you’re not. Certainly we all should strive to be better, but not at the cost of missing the lessons we learn from being human and making mistakes along the way.

courtesy of Sira Anamwong, freedigitalphotos.net

courtesy of Sira Anamwong, freedigitalphotos.net

Humans Feel

I took my son to see the new Pixar movie, Inside Out. We’ve already seen it twice. He loves the Lava song short film before the movie even starts. In fact, he tried to get his mommy and daddy to sing it together during one of our exchanges. Yep, he tried to parent trap us. It was cute, innocent and awkward. If you haven’t had a chance to see Inside Out yet, you should definitely add it to your list of “must sees”. I believe the writing and imagination was genius. If I had to pick a favorite scene, I think it would be when Riley was crying candy tears and Sadness sat with him through the process until he was finished. At one point, Joy tried to intervene and Sadness took control of the situation. I’m not going to lie, I cried too. At this moment in the movie you see the expression on Joy’s face when she finally realizes that Sadness has just as an important role as Joy. Friends, we can’t be happy all of the time. Sometimes we have to sit with our feelings, even if they’re not pleasant, and allow sadness, grief, or loneliness to guide our emotions. It’s a significant part of the healing process and feeling those feelings deeply is part of what makes us human. We can’t be happy all of the time and we certainly aren’t “fine”.

We live in a culture who strives to find more ways to numb the pain. When we numb the pain, we run the risk of numbing the joy. If we numb pain and joy, we can run the risk of withholding other necessary feelings like love, affection, empathy and compassion. It’s no wonder we see and hear of multiple incidents of self harm or substance overdose. People find certain feelings unbearable, while others find the lack of feeling so unbearable that they risk losing their life just to feel something. We need to give ourselves permission and space to feel deeply, to both grieve and to feel joy. I hope that my son learns how to feel and express his feelings more than he discovers the art of masking or covering up his feelings. Feelings are so very important and vital to human existence. If we numb our feelings, we barely exist.

Perhaps if we don’t allow ourselves to dig deep into feeling great sorrow or loss, we may never experience the fullness of joy that is also available. Maybe those who feel real emotions more deeply are able to celebrate joy more freely when their time for grieving is over. So much of our culture feels nothing. We even have medications which help those who struggle with depression and anxiety, but some of the side effects can cause the loss of feeling in other areas and increase the risk of suicide or broken relationships. This is a great challenge; because I think it is important to manage our feelings well and I am grateful such medications exist to help folks manage. However, I’m afraid as a society as a whole, we’ve lost our ability to feel things how we should and we need to get our feeling back.

courtesy of usamedinez @ freedigitalphotos.net

courtesy of usamedinez @ freedigitalphotos.net

Humans are Broken.

Being broken is a beautiful gift life offers us to remind us we are still human. There’s something refreshing about digging deeper and giving ourselves permission to say, “No, actually, I’m not really FINE, I’m actually broken and I could use some encouragement or reassurance.” We all have flaws and weaknesses. Whether physical, emotional, or mental trauma, we have all experienced a certain amount of brokenness. While they may be varying degrees of brokenness based upon severity or depravity of difficult circumstances, we’ve all been given the opportunity to become broken. Brokenness used to scare me. It takes a strong dose of vulnerability to recognize we are broken. When our journey takes us to a place of being broken, I believe we experience a kind of joy and resilience that exists and is far richer for those who allow themselves to be broken and vulnerable. Lately, I’ve been apologizing to some friends about being a mess. It’s no secret that walking through a divorce causes you to experience its own version of brokenness. While I think it may be healthy to acknowledge that life circumstances can make things messy, It’s not very fair to ourselves or the process to assume that brokenness is the same as being a hot mess. Perhaps there’s varying stages of brokenness that go anywhere from being a messy broken and a healthier version of broken. Brokenness can be good, as long as we don’t wallow too long in the pit of messy despair. Allowing ourselves to move forward in the process of healing from whatever it was that broke us in the first place, does not necessarily mean we should try to cover up or hide the scars of our affliction. Scars, like stretch marks, are reminders that something excruciatingly painful gave birth to something infinitely more beautiful. Allowing ourselves to be broken is a natural part of understanding what it is to be human. Being broken can get messy, and it can be beautiful.

Humans Have Needs

courtesy of zirconicusso @ freedigitalphotos.net

courtesy of zirconicusso @ freedigitalphotos.net

As I mentioned before, humans have needs, but we don’t like to talk about them. Some of us who have been hurt and broken would rather build up walls around our soul and declare, “I don’t need anything or anyone to make me happy.” LIES. We all have needs and it includes other broken people. While I could spend all day long discussing various needs we have as humans, including love, attention, affection and not to mention, food, water, and shelter; I would like to focus on one thing we all need that is probably the most difficult thing to accept or process.

WE NEED GRACE. We need to give it and we need to learn to accept it.

When we come to the realization that we need to be extended grace either from a loving God or from one another, things get humble and messy really fast. To accept that I need grace means that I am also accepting the fact that I feel shame, I make mistakes, and I am broken. Pretending that we are none of these things doesn’t really help our situation, nor does it cancel out the reality that we still need grace. How does one accept grace without the ability to extend it to others? I don’t think that’s possible. That’s one of the beautiful things about grace is that the more we give, the more we get. Certainly there are moments and sometimes long drawn out seasons where we don’t feel we have the capacity to give it out while we sit with our brokenness and humanity. But there will be a time when you will have the opportunity to give it out the more you allow yourself to accept it.

This last Sunday, I sat during a time of silence at our local Quaker meeting, a gathering of Friends. In the silence while my mind and heart were processing all of these things, the following words resonated in me:

Sometimes we have to walk through darkness to better see and appreciate the Light.

Whether it is through being needy, expressing our feelings, brokenness, or making some mistakes along the way, sometimes we learn that we have to walk through darkness to better see and appreciate the light. I think this is what it means to be human. Recognizing that we need to feel, we need to be broken and we do make mistakes and resisting the urge to numb or pretend everything is fine when it’s not is what it means to be human.

I think we need to give ourselves permission to say, “No, I am actually not ‘fine’, I am simply human.”

9 thoughts on “Being Human

  1. Jonathan, I must admit I cried thru a lot of this… I love the Lord with all my heart, but I do get so busy that I don’t allow myself to feel lot of the time, it seems easier this way… but eventuallty the feelings surface.. I too am human… thank you for writing this..

    • Bea, I think somehow WE can even use religion and being busy to keep us from really feeling deeply the humanity we experience. We live in a broken world and pretending, doesn’t help the situation. You are one of my heroes. You see children come and go from your home on a regular basis who are a direct result of a broken home. You continue to love and cope to keep moving forward. I hope that you keep on opening your home to children. There are so many in our community who have fond memories of living in your home while their world was altered. You are amazing. Thank you for your kind words of encouragement.

  2. Jonathan. Thank you. This theme you have eloquently woven of needing the human experience of the “not-fun” (to lump it all together) in order to fully appreciate the great times — you hit the nail on the head. It’s something I’ve been chewing on but couldn’t quite figure out how to put it into words. Love your raw honesty, and I look forward to reading more of your journey.

    • Thanks Amy! I appreciate the quote and link in your blog as well! While I’ve been blogging and writing off and on for a few years, I’m starting to get a little more into it. There is a lot of this I am still learning. For example, I’m not very good at conversing with other bloggers for feedback and contributing to the larger conversation. Any ideas you have and ways i can improve, I would greatly appreciate it! I’ve also enjoyed reading yours as well. Please give Drew a big squeeze for me!

  3. Jonathan, Thank you for a very candid and vulnerable blog post. I’ve observed and admired the way you think so deeply. It is the road less traveled and can often feel very lonely. Thank goodness for the Brene’s in the world that confirm that we are anything but alone. Here is my favorite quote from your post…”When we numb the pain, we run the risk of numbing the joy. If we numb pain and joy, we can run the risk of withholding other necessary feelings like love, affection, empathy and compassion.” In this statement you have summarized the state of so many of us. We are walking wounded so we go for near comatose, settling for neither the highs or lows. In many cases this is legitimate as we feel we only have enough energy to cover the huge and gapping hole caused by wounds perpetrated knowingly and unknowingly by others. We compress because we fear bleeding out, when in truth, healing comes by being willing to let others, or a community of others, who are safe (not everyone is safe) to come alongside and help with the painful process of healing. Recovery is a process. We must remember to trust the process.

    One question. Can you clarify what you mean by “I have no problem being the victim of someone else’s mistake, whether intentionally or unintentionally…”

    Thank you for skillfully and courageously starting an important conversation.

    • Anna, Thank you for your constant encouragement!

      I think what I meant and had difficulty articulating is that it iss easier acknowledging someone else’s faults and ability to be the one inflicting the “hurt” than it is to recognize that I, too, have the ability to hurt others, whether I intend to or not. Does that make a little more sense?

  4. Pingback: Update on Project Smile | amyjoysnyder

Leave a Reply

