What’s IN Your Cup?

coffee cupI never thought I would engage in ridiculous polarized controversial public debates. But as I was pouring my coffee this morning I was reminded that it is not as much what is on the outside of my cup or what it looks like. It is what is on the inside that matters most to me. To be honest, there are some days I care less about which mug I grab. I just want my frigging coffee.

The circus of humanity lived out on social media continues to remind me of one of my core beliefs: It is not what is on the outside that matters. What is on the inside is of far greater importance.
Blue cup, Red cup

Punk-rock, Prep

Jesus Tee, Rainbow Flag

Dragon Tattoo, Eye-brow Piercing

Pinto Wagon, Beamer

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays

Man-Bun, Mohawk

Stain-Glassed Windows, Gaudy Steeples

Weak or strong, mankind is always more caught up on outward appearances and it can get exhausting.

If your cup is full of love and kindness. This is what matters.

The spirit of Christmas is not to celebrate when love came down in fury toting a gun, wearing a God’s Gym tee creating public outrage towards what color your coffee cup is.

The spirit of this holiday is to celebrate when love came down in the most humble of circumstances to bring about a subversive revolution of grace and set people free from oppression. This revolution was walked out in love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control. While I am flawed because I am human, I hope to strive to walk these characteristics out on my own journey.

I want my cup to overflow with these things, and, yes, coffee too. Lots of coffee.

2 thoughts on “What’s IN Your Cup?

Leave a Reply

